chip shop’s menu has a “Veggie Option” section. It isn’t a great leap to infer that their veggie burger, veggie spring roll, and veggie haggis, are suitable for vegetarians. But it appears that they are only vegetarian until they are cooked.
In one corner of their in-shop menu board, there is a hand-written note saying that all of their food is fried in beef dripping. On questioning the young man behind the counter, he confirmed that the veggie food is all cooked in beef fat. He said that they could grill a veggie burger, but that doesn’t help the other items described as “veggie”, or the chips they are served with.
As a vegetarian, I accept that a minority of chip shops cook in beef dripping, and that they don’t always make it clear. But when a menu describes food as veggie, I expect it to be vegetarian.